SERVICES

SFX/VFX CONSULTING









As with any new technology, with digital VFX it was initially attempted to outsource as much as possible to post-production; for manifold reasons. Small productions could suddenly afford priceless effects, directors were able to find completely new ways in scenography, dangerous scenes were avoided and budgets were saved - supposedly.

Unfortunately, the visual impression often suffered from this and left the viewers with a distanced, artificial feeling instead of captivating them at this point. The subtle randomness of practical effects and their physical parameters can be roughly simulated, but only by a team of VERY experienced VFX artists.

Which brings us to costs; for a small explosion with flying debris, one of our technicians needs a day and the result is a real explosion. For the digital version, at least part of the room is modeled, textured and illuminated. Then the trajectories of the debris are calculated and adjusted. This is followed by rendering, color grading and compositing - at a guaranteed 3-fold cost.

Also not to be underestimated is the effect on the acting performance of your actors. "When I say 'BANG' you're pretending..." - and then ten takes followed. Such practical effects are rarely repeated more than once or twice, because the desired reaction and emotion is gratuitous - so to speak.

But we shall no demonise digital effects here, we just would like to keep you from getting worse results for more money. We'll be happy to tell you where practical effects are useful and where they can't be used, where you can avoid dangers for actors and we also advise your VFX artists to make digital scenes with real elements more realistic.

SERVICE

SFX/VFX CONSULTING









Wie bei jeder neuen Technologie wurde mit digitalen VFX anfangs versucht, so viel wie möglich in die Postproduktion auszulagern; die Gründe hierfür waren vielfältig. Kleine Produktionen konnten sich plötzlich unbezahlbare Effekte leisten, Regisseuren standen komplett neue Wege in der Szenographie offen, gefährliche Dreharbeiten wurden vermieden und Budgets somit geschont - vermeintlich.

Leider litt darunter oft genug der Bildeindruck und ließ die Zuschauer mit einem distanzierten, artifiziellen Gefühl zurück, statt ihn an dieser Stelle zu fesseln. Die subtile Zufälligkeit praktischer Effekte samt ihrer physischen Parameter kann zwar annähernd simuliert werden, aber nur von einem Team äußerst erfahrener VFX Artists.

Womit wir bei den Kosten wären; für eine kleine "Explosion" mit umherfliegenden "Trümmern" benötigt einer unser Techniker einen Tag und das Ergebnis ist eine reale Explosion. Bei der digitalen Version wird mindestens ein Teil des Raumes modelliert, texturiert, eingeleuchtet. Dann werden die Flugbahnen der "Trümmer" berechnet und angepasst. Es folgen Rendering, Color Grading und Compositing - zu garantiert den 3-fachen Kosten.

Nicht zu unterschätzen ist außerdem auch die Wirkung auf die schauspielerische Leistung Ihrer Darstellerinnen und Darsteller. "Wenn ich 'BÄNG' sage, tust Du so also ob..." - und dann folgten zehn Takes. Solche praktische Effekte wiederholt man selten mehr als ein, zwei Mal, denn die gewünschte Reaktion und Emotion gibt es sozusagen kostenlos mit dem Effekt dazu.

Digitale Effekte soll hier nicht verteufelt werden, aber wir möchten Sie davor bewahren, für mehr Geld zu einem meist schlechteren Ergebnis zu kommen. Wir sagen Ihnen gerne, wo praktische Effekte sinnvoll sind und wo nicht mehr, wo man durch sie Gefahren für Schauspieler vermeiden kann und wir beraten auch ihre VFX Artists, um digitale Szenen mit realen Elementen realistischer zu gestalten.